Remi’s 2nd birthday cake

Last weekend my daughter Remi turned 2. With both my husband and my grandmother having coeliac disease a gluten free birthday cake was a must. 
I decided on a Peppa Pig theme for the cake and cheated slightly in obtaining sugarcraft figures and I definitely couldn’t do them myself no matter how much I tried! 

So my basic sponge recipe:

150g gluten free self raising flour (I used doves farm) 

150g butter 

150g caster sugar

2 large eggs (or 3 medium eggs) 

1tsp baking powder 

1/4 tsp xantham gum 

1tsp vanilla extract

Pinch of salt 
Cream butter and sugar together.  Add eggs and vanilla and combine until light and creamy.  Now sieve in dry ingredients and mix well.  I coloured my sponge pink using gel food colouring, add the colour once all ingredients are combined to ensure an even colour.  

I split this between 2 lined tins and baked at gas mark 5 for 20-25 mins until lightly browned and a skewer came out clean. 

I baked 3 cakes for this one to give it a bit of extra height. 

Once cooled I filled with buttercream :

140g softened butter

280g icing sugar 

2 tblsp milk
Beat butter until soft, add half the icing sugar and beat until smooth.  Add the rest of the icing sugar and half the milk. Beat until smooth.  If a little thick add the rest of the milk.  If you want to colour your buttercream add it at this stage.  
I sandwiched the cakes together using buttercream and strawberry jam.  

Once assembled I coated the top and sides in buttercream to create a crumb coat.  

I cheated at this stage and bought ready roll icing as making royal/fondant icing is a massive faff on a time constraint.  I measured the size of the cake using a piece of string up one size, across the top and down the other side.  This way I could make sure I’d rolled the icing out big enough to cover the cake. I used corn flour to ensure it didn’t stick to the work surface or rolling pin, this works well as its gluten free and doesn’t add any flavour to the icing like using additional icing sugar would. 

Once covered I smoothed into place and set about decorating using edible glue to affix the sugar decorations. 

Everyone at the party was suitably impressed and not aware it was gluten free until they were told.  I learnt that as long as your cake is delicious, you can cheat the decorations slightly ! Hahaha. 

Only problem is, I’ll have to find a way to continue to top this year on year now! 

Leave a Reply

