Grilled lemon chicken

I really wish I’d taken a photo of this as it was such a pretty meal! However I was carrying a crying toddler whilst cooking and dishing up so really wasn’t possible! 
Josh has started a new diet and is trying to lose some weight so I’m focusing back on home cooking after a few months of convenience so that I know exactly what’s going into our food. 

Today’s meal was grilled lemon chicken with potato chunks and summer vegetables. 

For the chicken:

1 chicken breast per person (could also use boneless thighs) 

1 lemon 

2 cloves garlic

1 tsp dried thyme (or 1tblsp fresh thyme) 

Salt and pepper to season 

An hour prior to cooking season chicken. Add the zest of a lemon, the juice of half a lemon, 2 crushed/finely chopped garlic cloves (if your garlic is very strong only use one) and the thyme.  Leave to marinade with some lemon slices. 

I cooked this on the George Foreman grill (other grills are available!) for around 8 minutes to ensure the chicken was fully cooked but still juicy and tender.  
For the potatoes :

For 2 people I used 3 medium potatoes however depending on the size of your potatoes/size of your appetite this is easily changeable. 

I diced the potatoes into 12/16 chunks each(half, half again and then into 3 or 4) with the skin on and parboiled for 5 minutes. 

Once parboiled I sprayed a roasting tin with low cal oil spray to prevent sticking and chucked the potatoes in.  I seasoned with garlic salt, pepper and dried thyme. 

I then roasted these for around 40minutes, tossing half way through. 
I served this with baby corn, carrots and snap peas.  A nice tossed salad would also go well. 

Frankly it was delicious and will be a staple recipe throughout the summer.  Next time I make it I will take a picture! 

Leave a Reply

