Fritatta/crustless quiche

I needed lunchbox inspiration for Josh this week as he doesn’t really like gluten free bread so sandwiches are out, and there is only so much soup and muffins a man can eat.  

We had a load of chicken left over from our roast and I wanted to make use of it so I thought I’d make up a leftovers Fritatta. The ingredients in this are pretty interchangeable depending on what you have in at the time.  

Today I used:

Left over cooked chicken breast

2 rashers of smoked bacon 

Peppers (I used frozen mixed peppers, but about the equivalent of 2 small peppers) 

1 red onion 

2 cooked potatoes diced

8 eggs 

200ml milk 

Grated cheese (I just grated away but would assume about 70g) 

(if you feel like being lazy tesco do a frozen potato, pepper and onion mix that if you fried off quickly to defrost would work in place of the potato etc above) 

Other things you can add: mushrooms, ham, courgette, asparagus, broccoli etc. Avoid foods with high water content like tomato.  

I cooked off the bacon, peppers and onions in a pan briefly (as I was using frozen veg and wanted to remove the extra water).  I added the potato and chicken and warmed through.  

Once cooked I chucked the lot in a roasting tin and spread it out.  

In a large bowl I cracked the eggs and added the milk and whisked.  I then added seasoning of choice (salt,  pepper,  season all and paprika here).  

Sprinkle the cheese over the chicken and veg mixture then pour over the egg mixture.  

This may displace the filling, ensure this is evenly distributed before cooking.  

I cooked this in the oven for 35-45 mins on gas mark 5.  It’s cooked when the egg mixture is fully set and it’s slightly browning  on top.  
I’ve cut this into 4, boxed up in portions and refrigerated.  Josh will take this to work and either eat it cold or heat in the microwave for a few minutes.  A healthy and filling lunch.  

Leave a Reply

